La Paz to Cusco (via Isla del Sol)

The Bolivia Hop bus picked me up at 06:30 at my hostel in La Paz with four others – Annika, an American Swede, and three English guys on a day trip. I sat next to Annika on the bus and chatted about Up Close until they put Back to the Future on!

We arrived at Copacabana, which is on the shore of Lake Titicaca (the world’s highest navigable lake) just before midday. That gave us time to grab some lunch and see the derby highlights before catching the boat over to Isla del Sol.

Copacabana from the boat

The boat trip was a breezy 75 minutes (which only gave the English daytrippers just an hour on the island before making the five hour journey back to La Paz!) and dropped us with our bags at the bottom of a very steep hill.

Annika and I had been chatting to a Dutch couple and we found a good hostel for 30Bs (£3) each. After soaking up a bit of sun, the four of us went in search of food and drink. We had a bite to eat at our first stop before continuing up to the crest of the hill where we found a fantastic mirador for the sunset.


I had the local speciality trucha for dinner, which was also amazing – I should get fish more often.

For various reasons we were all really tired, so we got an early night with an eye on seeing sunrise in the morning.

On Sunday morning, I was up and awake well ahead of the 6:40am sunrise and it didn’t disappoint:


Breakfast lived up to the previous night’s fare and gave us the energy to embark on a trek across the island.

Donkeys everywhere on Isla del Sol

Maikel, me, Annika & Gina

After about 14km around the island, Annika and I were back at the main harbour for the 3:30pm boat back to Copacabana. From there, our bus was waiting to take us into Peru.

Everything went smoothly at the border crossing and we were soon on our way. The plan was to travel for about three hours and then stop at a restaurant in Puno for dinner, but the guide explained that wouldn’t be possible. This was because there were some planned strikes that would be affecting the roads from midnight, so we couldn’t afford to stop in case we got caught by them. This meant getting to Cusco early (the normal ETA is 6am, which is when I was being met at the bus station), rather than getting held up until 3-4pm by the blockades. I was pretty impressed that they managed to arrange a pizza delivery to the bus, so we still got fed without stopping.

In the end we arrived in Cusco at 2:30am. The bus company arranged taxis for everyone, so I went to a hostel to steal some wifi and wait until a slightly more respectable time to go to the bus station for my scheduled pick-up.

All that means that I’m about to start the next part of my journey. I’ll be moving into my homestay home, finding out more about my new volunteering project at Asociación Arariwa and discovering what it’s like to live in a South American city.

Leave a Reply

